Matthew Bourne on notation

Matthew BourneIn most of the musical settings in which I work, I’m lucky enough to not be instructed as to what I should or shouldn’t be doing(!) but, it’s also fun to work from notation: learning challenging piano parts, or deciphering new ways of communicating musical ideas by others, can bring about surprising and unexpected musical results…

Some of the most effective examples have often been the simplest – I remember being fascinated by the score of Cornelius Cardew’s Treatise, and even some of Cathy Berberian’s pieces, almost preferring this sort of notation to that of staves, notes and barlines. That said, I am actually a stranger when it comes to playing from graphic notation – which is why I’m really looking forward to being challenged by the materials and ideas that will be submitted (by you!) for this project.

So, don’t forget, this is open to anyone who would like to contribute their compositional ideas – regardless of notational style – and I would be very happy to look at draft ideas or initial sketches. All are welcome!